History made at Emmys 2022 - What happened and what’s special

Zendaya became the youngest two-time Emmy winner, and Squid Game star Lee Jung-jae became the first Asian Emmy-winning actor.

A part of history had made at the 74th Primetime Emmy Awards. Here's our pick of the most notable moments that happened at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California.

Zendaya Made a History, Once Again

Zendaya accepts the Emmy for outstanding lead actress in drama series.

Zendaya won the Emmy award for lead actress in a drama series for her portrayal of Rue in "Euphoria." It was her second time winning the award in this category. She has already made history by becoming the youngest lead actress in a drama series winner with her first win for "Euphoria" in 2020 at 24 years old. More significant is that she is the first Black woman to win two Emmys for lead actress in a drama series.

During her acceptance speech, Zendaya thanked those who have shared their stories of struggles and addiction with her. She also said she hopes "Euphoria" can help heal people.

“My greatest wish for ‘Euphoria’ was that it could help heal people, and I just want to say thank you to everyone who shared their story with me", she said.

"Squid Game", The First Non-English Show to Win Emmys

"Squid Game", the Netflix No. 1 Show of all time with 1.65 Billion hours streamed in the first four weeks, became the first non-English Television series to win Emmys. Squid Game was nominated for 14 Emmy awards, including major categories such as best writing, directing, and acting. South Korean actor Lee Jung-jae, who played the lead character Seong Ki-hun, also known as player 456, has become the first Asian to win the Emmy for best actor in a drama. Hwang Dong-hyuk, director of "Squid Game", also won the Emmy for best drama series direction for the first episode of the series. During his acceptance speech, Hwang said that he expected the awards to open doors for other Asian creators.

Although "Squid Game" was distributed by a global production company Netflix, it was mainly targeted and produced in the Korean domestic market. It is a very unusual case that such a TV series has become an iconic show loved by people worldwide. The case of "Squid Game" is sure to serve as an opportunity for unique TV series and films from various countries to be known to the world.

Who Smiled, Who Cried?

The biggest winner of the night was "The White Lotus". This  American comedy-drama show won ​​five awards in major categories, including the outstanding limited series, writing and directing, and acting.

Better Call Saul, AMC

If there's a winner, there gotta be a loser. What were the biggest snubs of this year's Emmy? Arguably they were "Better Call Saul" and "Yellowjackets". This critically-recognised Breaking Bad prequel was nominated in seven major categories, including best series, directing, writing, and acting wone none of them. Across multiple seasons, the show has been nominated 46 times but has never won any Emmys. The final episode of the series was released last month. However, it has one more chance next year. "Yellowjackets", the female-led drama series created by Ashley Lyle and Bart Nickerson, was also unable to win any of its seven nominations.

The Full Winners List

  • Best Actor in a Limited Series: Michael Keaton 

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Limited Series: Murray Bartlett 

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Matthew MacFadyen

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Julia Garner 

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Sheryl Lee Ralph 

  • Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Brett Goldstein 

  • Best Variety Sketch Series: Saturday Night Live 

  • Best Variety Talk Series: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver 

  • Best Supporting Actress in a Limited Series: Jennifer Coolidge 

  • Best Actress in a Limited Series: Amanda Seyfried 

  • Best Reality Competition Program: Lizzo's Watch Out for the Big Grrrls 

  • Governors Award: Geena Davis 

  • Best Directing for a Limited Series: Mike White, The White Lotus 

  • Best Writing for a Limited Series: Mike White, The White Lotus 

  • Best Writing for a Variety Special: Jerrod Carmichael: Rothaniel 

  • Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Jason Sudeikis (Ted Lasso) 

  • Best Writing for a Comedy Series: Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary 

  • Best Directing for a Drama Series: Hwang Dong-hyuk, Squid Game

  • Best Actress in a Drama Series: Zendaya (Euphoria) 

  • Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Jean Smart (Hacks) 

  • Best Directing for a Comedy Series: MJ Delaney, Ted Lasso 

  • Best Writing for a Drama Series: Jesse Armstrong, Succession

  • Best Actor in a Drama Series: Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game

  • Best Limited Series: The White Lotus 

  • Best Comedy Series: Ted Lasso 

  • Best Drama Series: Succession

    Before you move on, why not give our Facebook page a like here. Or give our Twitter account a follow to keep up with our work here.