Olyroos U23 Asian Cup Squad Announced

Trevor Morgan has announced the Olyroos squad for their U23 Asian Cup campaign. They will face fixtures against Kuwait, Iraq and Jordan.

The FFA have named the Australian under 23s for their U-23 Asian Cup campaign. The competition, hosted by Uzbekistan, gets underway in 12 days. Trevor Morgan will hope to lead the squad to glory. Former Socceroo Richard Garcia will be Morgan’s assistant during the competition. 

“In recent youth national team camps, we have placed a strong emphasis on having former Socceroos, such as Paul Okon, Craig Moore, Mark Milligan, and Luke Wilkshire, involved, so I am delighted that Richard Garcia has accepted our invitation to travel with us for this tournament as an Assistant Coach." Said Trevor Morgan.

"Richard represented Australia at U23 level, played 17 internationals for Australia, including at the FIFA World Cup in 2010, and enjoyed a fantastic club career, so the advice and experiences he will be able to impart on the players will be crucial.”

Tony Vidmar will take the reins whenever the Olyroos Asian Cup journey ends. 

Morgan is confident about their chances of improving on their third-place finish from 3 years ago.

“We have assembled a strong squad of young Australian talent to compete at the upcoming AFC U23 Asian Cup, with one additional player to be added in the coming days.

"The players in the squad are making an impact in senior football, and with many age-eligible, for Paris 2024, this tournament will provide an important moment in their development.

"While some players won’t be eligible for the next Olympic cycle, the opportunity for them to go to a high-level international competition will assist them in their careers, and help to create further depth for the Socceroos.”



Goalkeepers:Nicholas Bilokapic (Hartlepool United), Jacob Chapman (Huddersfield Town), Joe Gauci (Adelaide United)

Defenders:Lewis Miller (Central Coast), Joshua Rawlins (Perth Glory), Jay Rich-Baghuelou (Accrington Stanley), Kai Trewin (Brisbane Roar), Hosine Bility (Fram Reykjavik), Jordan Bos (Melbourne City), Jacob Farrell (Central Coast), Jordan Courtney-Perkins (Warta Poznan)

Midfielders:Louis D’Arrigo (Adelaide United), Tyrese Francois (Fulham), Ramy Najjarine (Western Sydney), Joshua Nisbet (Central Coast), Cameron Peupion (Brighton & Hove Albion), Patrick Yazbek (Sydney FC), Lachlan Brook (Adelaide United) 

Forwards:Kusini Yengi (Adelaide United), Patrick Wood (Sydney FC), Bernardo (Adelaide United), Tristan Hammond (Austria Vienna), Alou Kuol (SV Sandhausen) 

Players who have A-League finals commitments will join up with the squad when their finals campaign ends. The same rule applies to players with A-League All Stars commitments.

Australia kicks off its campaign on June 1st when they take on Kuwait. Three days later, they take on Iraq. They complete their group B fixtures on the 7th of June when they take on the Jordan U23 side.