Adelaide defeated Carlton in game one of Gather Round. Photo: Dani Brown.

GATHER ROUND: Day 1 wrap-up

Adelaide delivered a shock blow in game one of Gather Round, defeating Carlton by 56 points at Adelaide Oval.

Adelaide delivered the first shock of Gather Round after an eight-goal to two first quarter put them in the box seat to defeat the previously undefeated Carlton on Thursday night.

Eight individual goal-kickers kicked off the Crows' scoring for the match, with Izak Rankine giving the first blow.

The Blues were able to peg one goal back in the second quarter but an attacking game style, not dissimilar to that of Collingwood's, saw the Crows continue to hold a steady ship.

By half time, the score was 10.5 (65) to 5.4 (34).

Ned McHenry had an immediate impact for the Crows as their sub. Photo: Dani Brown.

Ned McHenry had an immediate impact for the Crows as sub. Photo: Dani Brown

An evenly-contested third quarter put a bit of pressure on Adelaide and fans nervously watched on, knowing just a couple of goals from the Blues could pull the Crows' hard work apart, but the home side held a 36-point lead at the last break.

The Crows put the pedal down in the last quarter, kicking five goals to two and snagging an easy win.

The final score was Adelaide 18.10 (118) to Carlton 9.8 (62).

The Crows' tall key forwards Darcy Fogarty and Taylor Walker worked hard in the forward 50m and finished with five and three goals to their names respectively, and Ben Keays' influence was also felt with three goals and 16 disposals.

Harry McKay, Charlie Curnow, and Corey Durdin bagged two goals apiece for the Blues.

Rory Laird and Jordan Dawson topped the Crows' disposals count with 37 and 32 respectively, and Tom Doedee and Chayce Jones were key parts of the Crows' victory.

Sam Walsh was the only Blue in the top seven possession-getters with 25, while Ed Curnow, Adam Cerra, and Blake Acres all had 23 each.

Day two of Gather Round sees Fremantle face Gold Coast at Norwood Oval at 4.40pm, then Richmond takes on Sydney at Adelaide Oval at 7.40pm.